Priceless in Sheffield

(James here) – We’re about to launch cockles in vinegar on our site. I’m just doing a bit of checking around the internet. Very boring until I found this on a Sheffield memories website… Check out Jabberwocky’s Saturdays.

englands son
16-02-2010, 10:27
As a kid i can remember going into the fish market on a saturday morning with my old man and having a little dish of cockles with vinegar and a pinch of pepper. Did anyone else have this ritual?:)
pressy
16-02-2010, 12:01
I used to go for either cockles or whelks. The stall was T.Whittington & its still there & do still call occasionally for some. Also remember having some tripe from the stall opposite.
flyer
16-02-2010, 13:18
Love cockells love mussels hate welks with a passion one of the very few foods I detest
Jabberwocky
16-02-2010, 13:22
I used to go every Saturday with my mother in the 60s when I was a little lad and have WHELKS! They took me ages to chew and afterwards she`d buy me two pigs trotters, two crabs and a bag of tripe to take home with me.
I used to spend the rest of the day stuffing myself- who needs sweeties when you can eat stuff like that???
kerleytops
16-02-2010, 13:32
Remember how they used to sell cockles etc from trays in pubs? Also remember buying raw peeled and hopefully washed mushrooms in a pub in town, possibly the Wapentake. Spent many a happy hour or so in the Castle Market drinking milkshake and then eating cockles and having to buy “cow heel bits” for my gran.
sedith
16-02-2010, 13:48
There used to be a guy called Vinny who sold all manner of seafood around the Mosborough, Hackenthorpe areas, anybody remember him?
truman
16-02-2010, 15:32
I can remember,when I was a little lad, a chap coming round the social club on Saturday nights with bags of cockles…
bullerboY
16-02-2010, 15:38
Grreat grub!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

from http://www.sheffieldforum.co.uk/archive/index.php/t-547091.html
Jabberwocky – I salute you!

Leave a Reply

